Community Colleges
  • Comm college

    In the United States, community colleges (once commonly called junior colleges) are primarily two-year public institutions of higher education. Many community colleges also offer remedial education, GEDs, high school degrees, technical degrees and certificates, and a limited number of 4-year degrees.

The community college system makes up the largest segment of public higher education in Arizona. It consists of 10 districts each goverened by a locally-elected board and located in 11 counties. The educational services provided by Arizona community colleges include:

- the first two years of university-level education - designed for transfer to any Arizona University;

- occupational training programs in technical, vocational and paraprofessional careers;
- general education opportunities;

- continuing education and job skill enhancement;

- academic counseling and job placement services; and

- cultural aid community services programs for community enrichment.

Enrollment Requirements:

As a prospective Arizona community college student, you must meet one of the follow criteria;

- be a graduate of an accredited high school.

- have successfully completed the General Education Development Certificate of High School Equivalence (GED);

- be an individual of 18 years of age who has not completed high school;

- be a transfer student in good standing from another college or community college; or

- be a high school student who wishes to take college courses.

Arizona Western College

Central Arizona College

Chandler Gilbert Community College

Cochise College

Coconino Community College

Eastern Arizona College

Estrella Mountain Community College

Gateway Community College

Gila Community College

Glendale Community College

Maricopa Skill Center (A Division of GateWay CC)

Mesa Community College

Mohave Community College

Northland Pioneer College

Paradise Valley Community College

Phoenix College

Pima Community College

Rio Salado Community College

Scottsdale Community College

South Mountain Community College

Yavapai College

There are 10 community colleges in the Maricopa Community System:

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.